Coming Out Of The Broom closet

There are a lot of people who are what I call being in the Broom Closet.

Those who are under the age of 18 need to be more careful with the way they bring it up, than those who are considered adults-18 and over. If you are under age , it may be better to begin slowly. Feel your family out before blasting them with the news that you are a Witch, Wiccan or, Pagan.

 Start by reading some books out in the open and see the reaction. If it is harsh, then they are not open enough nor ready to accept your news. Maybe  start with the similarities with Native American beliefs. Dual Deity- Earth Mother, Sky Father.

Explaining that all religions use a form of Magick through Prayer, Candles, Host Wafers and Wine. Rituals as in Baptisim, Communion and Confirmation.That Holidays were originally Pagan , such as Easter  = Ostara and Yule = Christmas.That Jesus can be a representation of our God and the Mother Mary our Goddess. Many comparisons. They will need to know there are no evil intentions, as they may see it, no harm, just respect.

 I suggest letting parents read Scott Cunninghgam- Wicca For The Solitary Practitioner. No better way to introduce family to what it is you are drawn to. If the reaction is still negative- keep it to yourself until you become of age to practice your religion the way you are comfortable.

If you are 18 + You may decide to just tell people, or you may want to break it gently, if so I would buy the book- Wicca For The Solitary Practitioner by Scott Cunningham as a gift. Start with your Mom. If you are married or in a relationship, give them a copy as well. Have serious discussions. Explain your views clearly and simply so others can get a grip. Communication is the key. The way you communicate is important. Do not be to be on the defense and ready to argue. Not the right  to get your point across. I am wide open. I have been since I chose this path.I am a Natural Psychic with Mediumship abilities. I am a Practicing Witch.

I have always been quite open about my beliefs, take it or leave it.
I was born with special abilities These .were inherited from my Great Grandmother.
My family never really discouraged my path , even though not many follow the Pagan Path. My family was and is very diverse in their choices in religion and Spirituality.  I was lucky.
I started to read and learn right about 10 years old. I was bought books by Sybil Leek,along with many others. I knew my path was Pagan from a  very young age.
Recently, in the lasrt 3 years or so, I was rather pushed to go into the so called Broom Closet. There were people connected to me that were openly offended  ( My In Laws to be exact )  and to keep Peace, I hid away everything that was me.
In the last  year I have come out of that Broom Closet and have basically removed or disassociated myself from these people.

I know most of you can not do that,and will need to decide how open you want to be.
I am who I am. Like Me or Hate me, it won’t change me.
Being a Witch is a way of life for me. I honor the Goddess/ God each day.
Working with the Goddess/ God, Moon Phases , Natural essences of Symbolism, Color, Herbs, Stones, Candles etc.
I am Solitary and I consider myself Eclectic. I do not follow a tradition. . I have taken information that I have gathered over the years , from other practitioners and lots of books, as well as family influence. I have created my own style. I am comfortable with it. 

I do try to stay as Positive as possible. This is a daily challenge for me , as I am sure it is for so many others.
I listen to my inner self, and my gut instincts. If something doesn’t feel right, I do not go there 🙂
My Spells are for the good of all concerned. To help bring positive changes to someones life.
Spells are not a game. They are very real and should not be taken lightly. This is real life and not TV or the Movies.
I have been Casting Spells since the mid 1970’s. I take my way of life seriously, including my Spell work.
I have helped many people throughout the years on their Spiritual paths as well as their daily life.

I have always been very open about who I am and what path i am on in life.

My In-Laws pitched a fit about 3 years ago and I did try the Broom Closet for a bit. Did not like it. I felt suffocated.

 I am Proud to be who I am. I wear my jewelry out in the open, I do not shout from the roof tops, but if asked I answer honestly. I can not see anything wrong with my chosen way of life.

My thoughts are people need to be more open, more accepting of other people and their beliefs. I find that some people are really uptight and are far from open to other paths than their own. These are the people that make some of us so uncomfortable We need to feel excepted.  If you are out in the open ,this is your personal choice. If you are of age-do not let people make that decision for you. If it makes your life easier,then by all means choose to hide your true self. 

Personally my choice is to be out in the open. I incorporate my love for nature within my home. I am unique in personality and style. People know there is something different about me. I find those that accuse me of doing  negative things, usually  are the Negative ones. Or they are so closed minded that there is no use getting into it with them. They don’t want to hear anything different. I find that sad. I feel we , as Pagans, Witches and Wiccans are so much more open minded and are normally more tolerant of other peoples paths. We would like the same courtesy.

As I said~ Take me for who I am, or Don’t , that is your choice and we all have free will.But, I will never try to please people by compromising who I am or what I believe. This is no longer 1692.

Blessed Be )O(

About Myrtlelyn

I am a Witch and proud to say so.Mother , Grandmother and Kitty Mama. I love Nature. Especially anything water related. I collect, sea shells, driftwood, seaweed, stones, feathers and anything good I find I am a Daughter of the Goddess. My hobbies include Photography, Drawing, And Crafting with Beads.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Coming Out Of The Broom closet

  1. nimslake says:

    Thanks for sharing such a personal topic. I’m out to everyone but family. It keeps the peace, and I can still be me. I don’t have to win on all stages, it is fine that I can be out where I need to be. We are after all multidimensional , so I walk two roads.
    Blessings. Nims

    Like

    • Blessings Nims,
      You are so welcome. I am glad you liked it.
      I can totally understand your position. It works for you and that is what matters.
      There is no need for added stress. We all have a good share of stress in our daily lives without adding more.
      Blessed Be,
      Myrtlelyn

      Like

  2. echolaveaux says:

    This is a wonderful article and quite helpful. It is a beautiful thing you are doing here, helping young witches find their pagan voice. Like so many, I find myself in the broom closet still…even as I am pushing 50. I come from a very strict fundamentalist Baptist family so it’s in my best interest to lay low. Maybe one day I can come out, but first I need to build up the confidence. At times, it’s so very hard to live here in the south. Peace!

    Like

    • Thank you. I am glad to help those I can. I understand your position. I have lived off and on in the South half my life. It can be hard to be open, but it is becoming more out in the open these days. I come from a family of many religions, we all accept each other even if we don’t agree.
      Blessed Be.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

