Witchcraft- Myrtlelyn’s Style Part # 1

I have studied Witchcraft for over 40 years .Over these years ,I have taken bits of this and pieces of that and have created my style. This is the way I practice and what I teach.
Nothing is ever written in stone and this is just a guide.

As a Witch I feel Freedom, Self Confidence and Security.
Witchcraft is based on reverence for nature and our Earth. It has a dual Deity structure~ Goddess and a God. Balance. Positive / Negative ~ Light / Dark- Male/ Female.
The Goddess and God are within each one of us, we are connected to them, as they are connected to us. You can think of the Goddess and God as Loving Parents. Know that you can always turn to them for help in your time of need.

They are known by many names, many faces. Greek, Roman, Egyptian, Celtic Mythology.
You can choose a Patron Goddess and God or you can just call upon them as
Goddess and God or Lord and Lady, Sky Father,Earth Mother, Father God and Mother Goddess. This is a personal choice. When working Magick, Rituals, Celebrations or Psychic work , you may call upon them by name, or not. Again , this is choice. I prefer to work with The Goddess / God By name. I find this makes it easier for me to connect with them. This is my way. You may decide it doesn’t work for you. Go with what feels right to you.

Deciding to follow the path of  Witchcraft is a personal decision. You will know if this is your path. You will be drawn to it. Even if you have family or ancestors who practiced, this does not mean it is right for you. You will know if it is right for you,it will bring you feelings of comfort,security and peace. You may have felt drawn to this path most of your life. It could also have been your path in a past life.

There will always disagreements when it comes to the Craft , and to being a Witch.
There are many who feel if you are not initiated, then you are not actually a Witch. They do not feel there is a way to practice alone. I believe I am just as much a Witch as someone who has been initiated. In my opinion, It has more to do with faith, devotion , study and practice. This is where a Witch gets strength and knowledge. I love the Freedom that working alone gives me.I am not interested in being a part of an organized religion. This includes a Coven and is my personal decision. Some people prefer the closeness and structure a Coven or group gives them. I am more like the old Witch in the woods-a loner. I do have like-minded friends and family and we do work together or celebrate  Sabbats and Esbats together at times.

Self Dedication to the Goddess and God ,and to the Craft is enough for me.I took these vows young and renew them every so many years. That is the personal promise I have made to honor Goddess / God and my Craft.

When I started practicing there were only a few Traditions. Not like today.
Over the past few decades, more and more are created.

I have always considered myself a Gray Witch, if I were to put a color to it.  There are the Practitioners of the Dark, and those who practice the Lighter side to Magick. I am neutral. As I believe Magick is what we make of it. It has no color. The practitioner gives it the color, so to say.

There are a few Guidelines that I follow. I hope you will too.

Choose wisely those whom you talk to about your decision. It is a personal choice, and is entirely up to you whether you want to be open about it, especially in the beginning. Some people are more accepting than others , even in the year 2013.

I have always been open and honest about my beliefs.
Maybe even a bit overboard when I was younger. I am more subtle now,
but I am someone who really doesn’t care what people think.

I did however feel out my surroundings at work, or places like that. I wore my jewelry inside my clothes , until I felt comfortable wearing them out in the open, especially when I lived down South.

Your friends, family and people in general, will have different reactions. Some will genuinely be interested, some will be skeptics,then there are those who will try to save your soul, they will be shocked and just know the Devil has gotten to you.

This will be the time in your life to pick who stays and who goes in your life.  If someone has known you a while and now can not handle your Path, then they are a bit  close minded. These people will never change their minds about the subject.  If you are true to your Path, let them know this and that this subject is off-limits.

Be cautious of  Psychic Vampires or Energy suckers.
These are people who want your help and attention every day. Spells, Psychic advice and never thinking about you. Draining your energies dry. This is not healthy and will eventually put you down, make you weak.
Any and all Psychic, Spiritual and Magickal work takes Energy– Use Yours Wisely !!

Remember that whatever you send out into the Universe will return to you.  Maybe not today , or even tomorrow , but when you least expect it. You need to remember to watch what you say out loud, but also watch your thoughts. They can be helpful or dangerous. This also depends on your emotions at that time.
We call this Karma. I would prefer good Karma instead of bad. We can’t run or hide from our Karma.

Whatever you do, your actions cause things to happen
in other people’s lives. This can have a positive or negative effect and can cause a chain reaction. Act responsible. BULLYING is a great example. The emotional and physical damage this can cause is huge. It may not show, as most bottle it up inside. When the dam breaks it can cause a breakdown so strong that the person may attempt suicide or end up in therapy.

The 1st thing we must always remember is Like Attracts Like. Negative thoughts and actions draw more negative thoughts and actions. If you are having a rough time with life, you need to check your thought patterns and the words that come from your mouth. You have control over your life through your words , thoughts and Actions.

I believe we should always try to treat people with respect. Respect is so important.

On the other hand, if someone is trying to cause you harm, or is sending negative energy to you, to your life and to your family~ by all means send it right back to them.
They will receive their own nastiness back, not a Hex or Curse.
You are just sending back what you do not want or accept.
Like a Mirror or Rubber Wall. It reflects or bounces away from you and right back to the sender.

Witches do not believe, nor do we worship a Devil, and do not work with low Spirits or Demons.
Nothing Good will come from it. You may think the results are quicker , but you will pay in some way.

Low or Dark Entities always want something big in return for their help.
Be aware of Greed, as it can and will eventually backfire .will backfire.
It will come back to bite you when you least expect it.

Never do we use a Living Sacrifice !!
We use offerings of Stones, Shells, Statuary, Talismans,  Art,  Just to name a few and give you some ideas.

f54646ed   de8460a3

 

About Myrtlelyn

I am a Witch and proud to say so.Mother , Grandmother and Kitty Mama. I love Nature. Especially anything water related. I collect, sea shells, driftwood, seaweed, stones, feathers and anything good I find I am a Daughter of the Goddess. My hobbies include Photography, Drawing, And Crafting with Beads.
This entry was posted in Pagan, Spells, Uncategorized, Witchcraft and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Witchcraft- Myrtlelyn’s Style Part # 1

  1. jleyva92 says:

    myrtlelyn I have trying to get in touch with you . please email me .

    Like

Leave a Reply

